Words from Dr. King……….

January 18, 2010

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

king_0011.jpg

January is the month we honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. His life and his words continue to inspire us every day. Enjoy some of my favorite quotes of Dr. King below, with some of my own photos.

*********************************

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. “
sunset-2.jpg
Sunset photo taken on Friday, August 7, 1964 on the silent march to the funeral of James Chaney in Meridian, Mississippi

**************************************

“I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear. “

meridian-kids.jpg

Children in Meridian, Ms., in front of COFO office, Freedom Summer 1964

************************************

“I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality… I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word.”

meridian-cc-2.jpg

Meridian, Ms. students with civil rights worker, Freedom Summer 1964

“Anyone can be great, because anyone can serve.”


Published in: on December 17, 2006 at 11:20 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pattimiller.wordpress.com/2006/12/17/words-from-dr-king/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is my favorite page of all. Children in Meridian, Ms., in front of COFO office, Freedom Summer 1964 is my favorite photograph. His a photo of Rose Mary Simms, her brothe next to her James Simms, Robert Wallace, Lenray Gandy (the boy who lived across the streets from the COFO Office, he saw the civil rights workers everyday) and Bill Miller in that order.

  2. Wow!
    I just saw this photo of my sisters and me with this Civil Rights Worker whom I knew so well, but cannot remember his name. I’m sitting immediately to his right; my sister, Annedressa, to his left; and my sister, Dorothy in back.
    This one really brings back memories….wish I knew the names of the other kids and the worker??

    • Hi Pat –
      Which picture are you in on the Keeping History Alive blog? I took the picture so might be able to help you. Where do you live now?


Leave a Reply

